We're back in business, baby! Saturday's Team in Training group run was fantastic - longest distance of my life - 5.3 miles, and I could have kept going! :) We have a "mock event" this Saturday - 7 miles and I'm not that terrified! I'm ready to smash those 7 miles and then I can say that I've run more than halfway to a half marathon. I'm getting so excited!
I am desperate for new kicks - my running shoes are WORN OUT. Not only are the soles worn out, but they have stretched out so much that my feet slide around in them and blisters are forming. Ouch. I have been to two running stores so far - the first I did not get a good "vibe" for, and the second (the largest within 45 miles) had nothing in my size. HUH? I've got 3 more places to try, but the problem is that I don't want to take the kids. Trying to concentrate on what the salesperson is saying while preventing them from tearing the place up. For my four miles tonight my plan is to rub Body Glide over my feet, hope for the best and pray that I find shoes tomorrow! :)
Happy Running,
Beth
5.3 miles
72 minutes
13.58 pace
I'm a wife, a mother to three energetic boys, a new runner with a very slow pace. I may not win any races, but I will always cross that finish line!
Monday, July 11, 2011
Thursday, July 7, 2011
Unplanned Rest Day
Well, with all good comes a little bad, right? Apparently when I set my new 5K PR, I also tweaked my back. A LOT. I've been pumping my body full of ibuprofen, alternating hot and cold packs, and I'm finally giving in and going to the chiropractor tonight. I pray for relief and that I'll be back on my CONSISTENT training track again! :)
Happy Running,
Beth
0.0 Miles
0.0 Pace
LOL!
Tuesday, July 5, 2011
Running Log, Entry #3
HAPPY FOURTH OF JULY!!!
On the books for today was another 42 minute run. My niece was here and she agreed to go running (jogging for her, LOL) with me. She ran all through high school and a few years in college. I was nervous for her to "see me in action" as well as excited for us to share this new chapter in my life. I was also curious to see what would happen to my pace if I changed it to a 1:30 / :45... could less time running = a faster pace?
I knew that a 42 minute run usually took me 3.1 miles - a 5K. Sometimes it took 43 min or 44 min, but you get the picture. We woke up a bit later than I'd hoped and the Florida sun was already in full effect. I felt sluggish and not "with it" for our workout. As I shuffled to turn the corner onto my street at the end of our run, I pulled my cell phone out of my Spibelt and looked at my CardioTrainer app. I could not believe what I was seeing! I was about to beat my 5K pace! So I kicked it into high gear and sprinted home! I DID IT! A NEW PR for the holiday! It was a great way to celebrate my 4 month running anniversary!
It's not a fantastic pace, but for me, it is a huge improvement! It is my fastest 5K distance so far, on a hot, humid morning! I am anxious to see what my pace is on tomorrow evening's run. There is a 5K I am contemplating on Thurs, July 21st @ 7:00 pm. I wonder if I can make it a sub 40:00 race?!? Hmmmm...
Happy Running,
Beth
41:28
3.1 miles
13:23 per mile
Saturday, July 2, 2011
Running Log, Entry #2
Today was a group training run with Team in Training. We meet in downtown West Palm Beach and run along the inter coastal waterway. Today our Coach threw in a surprise - we were running the bridge as well - on the way out and the way back. No biggie, right? Sure, except I live in Florida where it is FLAT. I was hoping to add mileage to this week's long run, but quickly decided to alter my goal. Now I wanted to RUN this bridge! :) Oh - did I mention it was raining?!? hehehe
Two of my teammates were apprehensive about pacing themselves. I shared that this was my first week of training that I'd completed ALL three days of solo runs during the week and doing intervals of 1:45 / :45 (Jeff Galloway's run-walk-run method, found at www.jeffgalloway.com) and that my pace was S-L-O-W. They were game. Usually I love running solo. I'm not a fan of chatting it up out there - with three boys ages 6, 4 and 2 at home, I have enough chatter in my life. One of my loves from running is the fact that it is me and the road. I can go out there, think, zone out, whatever... just BE.
In any case, we started out. After the first 1/2 mile, it was time for... THE BRIDGE. WE NAILED IT!!! Feeling strong, at the bottom we realized it was time to turn around and tackle it again. Again, we were victorious! WOOHOO! At the bottom of the bridge (where we started) was our first water stop. While we all run with water, the Team In Training water stops are COLD water. Ahhhh! Then we were off! At 33 minutes it was time to turn around. By the time we got to the bridge, we decided one of our 1 min 45 sec runs needed to be a walk. Felt more like a crawl because it was during the time we were working our way up that bridge! In any case, when we made it to the other side, we nailed it going back.
When we got back, as expected, our mm was slower. Darned bridge! HA! In any case, we DID it! We only took ONE extra walk break in 66 minutes! YAHOO! What's more is that I REALLY enjoyed running with these ladies! I hope we can keep this up for a few weeks and see where it takes us!
Happy Running,
Beth
66 minutes
4.4 miles
15:00 per mile (yuck, but with HILLS, haha!)
Friday, July 1, 2011
Running Log, Entry #1
Nothing extraordinary about last night's training run. Currently I am with Team in Training for the Walt Disney Wine and Dine 1/2 Marathon and our solo weekday runs are 42 minutes, 42 minutes and 30 minutes. This week I ran 42 min on Monday, 30 min on Tuesday and 42 minutes last night. It was raining Floria style, so I went to our neighborhood's clubhouse and pounded out the miles on the DREADMILL! LOL! At least I could watch Tom Cruise while I ran. Don't judge - it was pre-flipping-out-on-Oprah's-couch Tom Cruise...YOU CAN'T HANDLE THE TRUTH Tom. Ahhhh, he looked good. I continued with my 1:45/:45 interval run-walk-runs and it seems to be a good fit for me at this stage.
Wait - where was I? Oh yes, this is the first week since joining T.I.T. that I have done every training scheduled. Usually I would let life get in the way of my running. Last week my husband and I sat down and decided that if I was REALLY going to do this race and raise $2,100 (*gulp!*) for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society, I needed to just do it. (Sorry, Nike. Stealing your line.) So, this week I let my running get in the way of my life. I. DID. IT. I am proud of myself, and that is a new emotion for me. It feels pretty darned good.
I am still such a slow runner. I'm averaging a 14 minute mile pace. YUCK. However, I've decided to *try* not to focus on that and be consistent with my training for 4 weeks. In four weeks I'll be stronger, and with strength will hopefully come speed. I'll start thinking about adding some speed training into the mix in August. Any advice from veteran runners out there is appreciated. :)
Until next time,
Happy Running,
Beth
42:00
3.1 miles
13:54 minutes per mile
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)